Nasal congestion! Need mask suggestions

By Margarite Latest Activity February 7, 2010 at 9:24 am Views 3,092 Replies 11 Likes 2

Margarite

I've been using the Swift II nasal pillow mask but due to chronic nasal congestion, I assume I'm somehow managing to mouth breath despite the chin strap. So now, I'm shopping for a full face mask. The equipment company(CPAP Supply of America) recommends either the Resmed Quatro or Activa. There are so many masks and I'm confused. I've had a hard time tolerating the head gear with the only other full face mask I've used. I felt too restricted by the forehead bridge for lack of a better term. I'm basically a newbie and really need advice. I've had the machine for almost 8 years but if you added up the time I've actually used it, it wouldn't even amount to 6 months. I know my heart is in jeopardy and need to use my CPAP! Thanks!

• Report Report as inappropriate
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Replies (11 replies)

Add your reply Reply Down
  • steadb
    steadb April 3, 2010 at 11:07 am   

I was having similar problems and switched to the Resmed Quattro full fask mask. I like the full face mask better despite the bigger profile on my face.

• nkl
    nkl March 23, 2010 at 4:24 pm   

I also have chronic nasal congestion. My ENT performed a series of procedures called "chemical cauterization" that helped quite a bit; in addition, I take one Claritin at bedtime, and I also use a NeilMed Sinus Rinse system twice a day. I use a Quattro full-face mask and find it much less confining than a nasal system with the chin strap.

• Robin red breast
    Robin red breast March 4, 2010 at 1:54 am   

Hi Margarite,

This is Greg, Robin's husband. Did you ever think about using
    a nasal decongestant. I'm not suggesting OTC nasal decongestants at all.

I've been using a prescription nasal decongestant called