Narcoleptic College Student

By girlfromtralfamadore Latest Activity November 3 at 8:14 pm Views 631 Replies 2

girlfromtralfamadore

Hi, my name is Blaze, and I've recently been diagnosed with narcolepsy. I've had symptoms since I was around 14 or 15 (I'm 19 now). I'm a sophomore in college, but I've been dealt a lucky hand this semester and was able to get late classes, so I haven't had as much trouble staying awake in class as I usually would. If I don't get any coffee before a class, though, I'm a wreck and falling asleep within 20 minutes. Since I was diagnosed, I'm finding it easier to manage myself in terms of keeping awake, but it's still tough sometimes trying to get enough energy to do my work. I feel completely depleted of energy after waking up from a full night's sleep, and I'll find myself in a sort of fog a lot of the time, where I'm not thinking clearly, or, when it's really bad, have gaps in my memory.

I'm not on any medication, mostly because my mom doesn't want me to be because she's afraid it'll mess with my liver too much if I start a lifetime of medication now. My doctor told me to just try and keep myself caffeinated and schedule naps around times I need to be awake, and that's been working okay so far for me, but my schedule is a bit lax now. I'm worried that it won't be enough for me when I need to go out into the real word and start working in my field.