Employment and Narcolepsy

By MissKiKi Latest Activity December 5, 2011 at 8:34 pm Views 2,117 Replies 9 Likes 2

MissKiKi

This is a new diagnosis for me, though I know I have had problems for decades, if not since birth.

I work full time as a designer, 9-6, m-f. I take Nuvigil, but nothing for the sleep cycle regulation. I have been trying to find the right doctor.

About once a week I have to come in late (10-11am) because I struggle to wake. When the alarm goes off my brain is awake but my eyes wont open and my body is weak.

My employer has done it's best to accommodate me, but the current situation is not working for either of us. I hold a very important position where many people including our clients rely on me. Missing are just 1 hour, is problematic.

They told me they don't want to lose me and would like me to figure out a different way for them to accommodate my illness.

I could doing any of the following:

1.) Take a different position utilizing my expertise
2.) Work part time thereby losing my superb health insurance
3.) Go on short-term disability for 3 months and then return to work when better
4.) Go on short-term disability and still work part time
5.) Go on long-term disability and not work
6.) Go on long-term disability and still work part-time
7.) Take a voluntary lay-off
8.) or something else

Please tell me how you keep a full time job with Narcolepsy or tell me if you think I shouldn't be working.

Thanks,
Kristine

• Report Report as inappropriate
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Replies (9 replies)

Add your reply Reply Down
  • jamiejean88
    jamiejean88 March 29, 2012 at 9:16 pm