CPAP and Dry Mouth... ACK!!!

By APJ Latest Activity May 28, 2011 at 9:29 pm Views 6,081 Replies 16 Likes 6

APJ

Hello Everyone! I'm new to sleep connect and I have been using my CPAP machine for a little over a year now. I have some interesting concerns I was hoping that someone on here could help me with: 1) Although I have a built in humidifier on my CPAP machine, it has NEVER stopped my mouth from drying out. It gets bad. I wake up not feeling my tongue- cause its stuck to the roof of my mouth and my lips are frozen to my teeth and gums. My throat is so dry it seems that having the CPAP is worse than NOT having it. 2) these problems are terribly irritating. They all stem from one thing that I've noticed- the air flow between the bridge of my nose and the mask. IT SHOOTS A STREAM OF AIR RIGHT INTO MY EYES!! In order to prevent this, I strap my full mask on a little tighter. solves that problem, but when I wake up, my gums hurt like no ones business and my teeth feel loose, the dry mouth issues return, etc… can someone help me out here?

• Report Report as inappropriate
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Replies (16 replies)

Add your reply Reply Down
  • RussMacmillan
    RussMacmillan July 6, 2011 at 9:53 am   

Have you ever thought of a chin strap…it sounds like you sleep with your mouth open so all that air is escaping out thru your mouth drying it out! there are many chin straps out there…the ultimate chin strap is the only one that works…also have you considered nasal pips…they are the most efficent and most comfortable…masks are the worse!

• lmkilday
    lmkilday June 30, 2011 at 4:56 pm